top of page
  • Writer's pictureCourtney Claycomb

My Interactive Narrative

Updated: Mar 29, 2019

My professor gave my colleagues and I another project to work on which is one of my favorite just because it's fun to create a narrative that is interactive. Meaning that your readers can read and make some decisions with the narrative. The readers don't have total control on most interactive narrative, but they can engage and control the story line in some ways. For example, I decided to use Twine to create my interactive like most of my colleagues in the Writing for #Digital Media course. Twine is a software used to create #interactivenarrative. It's pretty easy to use with veryyyy few codes. I decided to create interactive fiction narrative that is based on a personal story of mine.


My interactive fiction is called The Deaf Girl. This interactive fiction will take you into the perspective of a young teen who was born with a moderate hearing loss. You will get to understand how she feels and what her daily lifestyle is like. You will get to make choices on what the character will do and where she should go and how she should feel.



The story begins as she was just born and it will forward to five years later, when her parents discovered there was something wrong with her. She was diagnosed with a hearing loss. You’ll get see her journey which she describes it like hell but it becomes very rewarding towards the end, but still a struggle when it comes to the real world.

This interactive fiction is supposed to help others understand what it feels like for those with a hearing loss, especially this little girl’s journey.


As the author of this piece, I am that deaf girl that nobody ever understands except for my twin sister, hearing apparel teacher from high school, and my ear doctors. I hope more people understands what it’s like to have a hearing loss after #interacting with this narrative. Although, I didn't share everything about my hearing loss journey, I hope people can sense the challenges that comes with it. Here's a link to listen to what it sounds like to having different types of hearing loss. My hearing condition is moderate.



I was #inspired from another interactive fiction, “Depression.” I started thinking, “Wow, not everyone understands what it’s like to have a hearing loss. Maybe I could create an interactive fiction narrative to put those with good hearing in a perspective of bad hearing.” The piece will allow the users to make their own #choices and engage themselves with the texts. I also chose colors that gave off a emotional and depressing #tone and #mood so that the readers can experience that in some sort of ways. I also added a lot of gifs from this cool gif website.

This interactive fiction creates an ending of hope and peace. I really wanted to capture the #message that I wanted to share in my narrative. Not only it is about seeing what it's like for a deaf girl to live on a daily basis, but it's to remember to love yourself and all the flaws you have because we were all born different to begin with. We are worthy and loved.


I hope you've enjoyed it or will enjoy my interactive fiction narrative. Peace!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page